Biography & Autobiography - General

1-30 of 924

A Million Little Pieces

James Frey

At the age of twenty-three, James Frey woke up on a plane to find his four front teeth had been knocked out. His nose was broken and there was a hole through his cheek. He had no idea where the plane was headed or what had happened ov...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2005

The Pursuit of Happyness

Chris Gardner

In a candid memoir, a successful entrepreneur traces his journey from growing up with an abusive stepfather, to life on the streets as a homeless man with a small toddler in tow, to his triumphant battle to the top as a self-made mill...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2006

Dreams from my father

Barack Obama

Includes the senator's speech from the 2004 Democratic National Convention! In this lyrical, unsentimental, and compelling memoir, the son of a black African father and a white American mother searches for a workable meaning to his li...

Abridged CD
Published: May 2005

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (MT...

Jean-Dominique Bauby

We've all got our idiosyncrasies when it comes to writing--a special chair we have to sit in, a certain kind of yellow paper we absolutely must use. To create this tremendously affecting memoir, Jean-Dominique Bauby used the only tool...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2007

Teacher Man: A Memoir

Frank McCourt

The Pulitzer Prize and National Book Critics Circle Award-winning author of Angela's Ashes describes his coming of age as a teacher, storyteller, and writer, a personal journey during which he spent fifteen years finding his voice in ...

Unabridged CD
Published: Nov 2005

Running with Scissors: A Memoir

Augusten Burroughs

There is a passage early in Augusten Burroughs's harrowing and highly entertaining memoir, Running with Scissors, that speaks volumes about the author. While going to the garbage dump with his father, young Augusten spots a chipped, g...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2003

Never Have Your Dog Stuffed: And Othe...

Alan Alda

A dramatic and entertaining memoir by the award-winning actor and director describes growing up with a schizophrenic mother and renowned actor father, looking at the various turning points in his life and exploring the world around hi...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2006

Clapton: The Autobiography

Eric Clapton

“I found a pattern in my behavior that had been repeating itself for years, decades even. Bad choices were my specialty, and if something honest and decent came along, I would shun it or run the other way.”With striking in...

Abridged CD
Published: Oct 2007

The Other Side of the Sky: A Memoir

Farah Ahmedi

An inspirational memoir of the teenage author's struggles to survive her youth in war-torn Kabul describes her witness to brutal conflicts between the mujahideen and the Soviets during her earliest years, her extensive injuries after ...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2006

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

Annie Dillard

The Pulitzer Prize-winning work by nature-writer Annie Dillard. Living alone on Tinker Creek in Virginia's Roanoke Valley, Dillard follows the progression of seasons and explores the cosmic significance of the beauty and violence coex...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2007

Angela's Ashes: A Memoir

Frank McCourt

Worse than the ordinary miserable childhood is the miserable Irish childhood,' writes Frank McCourt in Angela's Ashes. 'Worse yet is the miserable Irish Catholic childhood.' Welcome, then, to the pinnacle of the miserable Irish Catho...

Unabridged CD
Published: Nov 2005

Monsoon Diary: A Memoir with Recipes

Shoba Narayan

Shoba Narayan’s Monsoon Diary weaves a fascinating food narrative that combines delectable Indian recipes with tales from her life, stories of her delightfully eccentric family, and musings about Indian culture.Narayan recounts ...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2004

Thomas Jefferson

Richard B. Bernstein

In Thomas Jefferson, Bernstein offers the definitive short biography of this revered American--the first concise life in six decades. Bernstein deftly synthesizes the massive scholarship on his subject into a swift, insightful, evenha...

Paperback
Published: May 2005

Wilson

A. Scott Berg

In the tradition of Truman, John Adams, and Team of Rivals, the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer of Charles Lindbergh, Maxwell Perkins, and Samuel Goldwyn sheds new light on a president and his presidency in a...

Unabridged CD
Published: Sep 2013

The Flyers: In Search of Wilbur and O...

Noah Adams

Drawing on letters, diaries, eyewitness accounts, oral histories, and other primary source material, this incisive portrait focuses on the accomplishments of Wilbur and Orville Wright, in a volume celebrating the one hundredth anniver...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2004

Murder at the Opera: A Capital Crimes...

Margaret Truman

It ain't over till the fat lady sings . . . but the show hasn't even started yet when a diva is found dead. The soprano in question, a petite young Asian Canadian named Charise Lee, was scarcely a star at the Washington National Opera...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2007

Confessions of a Failed Southern Lady...

Florence King

Florence King’s hilarious memoir of being reared in an eccentric Southern family by a grande dame grandmother who tried to hammer her into the shape of a true Southern lady. Was Granny successful? That is for the readers to deci...

Paperback
Published: Sep 1990

Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other So...

Celia Rivenbark

From the wickedly hilarious pen of Southern humorist Celia Rivenbark comes a collection of essays that brings to mind Dave Barry (in high heels) or Jeff Foxworthy (in a prom dress).Step into the wacky world of "womanless wedding&...

Paperback
Published: May 2006

Charlie Wilson's War Abridged

George Crile

This investigative report on the secret CIA operations during the 1980s Russia-Afghanistan war tells of the billion-dollar-a-year effort to arm, supply, and train the Afghan resistance, and to maintain relations in the region--all cen...

Abridged CD
Published: Aug 2005

Once Upon a Secret: My Affair with Pr...

Mimi Alford

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER  In the summer of 1962, nineteen-year-old Mimi Beardsley arrived in Washington, D.C., to begin an internship in the White House press office. After just three days on the job, the privileged but sheltered...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2013

Here If You Need Me: A Memoir

Kate Braestrup

When the oldest of Kate Braestrup's four children was ten years old, her husband, a Maine state trooper, was killed in a car accident. Stunned and grieving, she decided to pursue her husband's dream of becoming a Unitarian minister,...

Abridged CD
Published: Aug 2007

All Fishermen Are Liars

Linda Greenlaw

Just before Christmas, Linda meets up with her best friend and fellow fisherman Alden Leeman for lunch and a drink at the Dry Dock, a well-worn watering hole in Portland, Maine. Alden, the captain of Linda's first fishing expedition, ...

Unabridged MP3-CD
Published: Jul 2004

Jarhead

Anthony Swofford

A memoir of the Gulf War by a front-line infantry Marine recounts his struggles with the conflict on the front lines, his girlfriend's infidelity, his battles with fear and suicide, his brushes with death, and his identity as a soldie...

Unabridged CD
Published: Oct 2005

This Truckin' Life: The Reminiscences...

Laurie Driver

This book is a set of reflections and recollections of a driver's 40 plus years in the hard and unforgiving world of the haulage and transport industry. It delves into the methods resorted to, in order to survive and make ends meet fo...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2006

The Long Run: One Man's Attempt to Re...

Matthew Long

New York City firefighter's emotional and inspiring memoir of learning to run again after a debilitating accident, based on the wildly popular March 2009 piece in Runner's WorldOn the morning of December 22, 2005, Matt Long was cyclin...

Unabridged CD
Published: Oct 2010

The Duck Commander Family: How Faith,...

Willie Robertson

Faith. Family. Ducks—in that order. This audiobook gives readers an up-close and personal, behind-the-scenes look at the family in the exploding A&E show—Duck Dynasty. This Louisiana bayou family operates Duck Commander, a booming...

Unabridged CD
Published: Mar 2013

James Herriot's Favorite Dog Stories

James Herriot

In this very special collection of favorite stories about dogs great and small, James Herriot tells us about his own dogs and all the wonderful people and animals we have come to love so much. Fifty memorable tales move us to both lau...

Unabridged CD
Published: Oct 2004

Wisdom of Our Fathers: Lessons and Le...

Tim Russert

What does it really mean to be a good father? What did your father tell you, that has stayed with you throughout your life? Was there a lesson from him, a story, or a moment that helped to make you who you are? Is there a special memo...

Paperback
Published: May 2007

Hallelujah! The Welcome Table: A Life...

Maya Angelou

Throughout Maya Angelou’s life, from her childhood in Stamps, Arkansas, to her world travels as a bestselling writer, good food has played a central role. Preparing and enjoying homemade meals provides a sense of purpose and cal...

Abridged CD
Published: Sep 2004

Autobiography of a Fat Bride: True Ta...

Laurie Notaro

The author of the New York Times bestseller The Idiot Girls’ Action-Adventure Club tackles her biggest challenge yet: grown-up life.In Autobiography of a Fat Bride, Laurie Notaro tries painfully to make the transition from all-n...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2003
  • 1-30 of 924

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up