This Tender Land: A Novel by William Kent Krueger Paperback Book

Details

Rent This Tender Land: A Novel

Author: William Kent Krueger

Format: Quality Paperback, Unabridged-CD

Publisher: Atria Books

Published: May 2020

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Retail Price: $17.00

Pages: 464

Synopsis

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, "a gripping, poignant tale swathed in both mythical and mystical overtones" (Bob Drury, New York Times bestselling author) that follows four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will fly into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Landis an en-thralling, big-hearted epic that is "more than a simple journey; it is a deeply satisfying odyssey, a quest in search of self and home" (Booklist).

View descriptions at Amazon.com

Reviews