Sold on a Monday by Kristina McMorris Paperback Book

Details

Rent Sold on a Monday

Author: Kristina McMorris

Format: Quality Paperback

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

Published: Sep 2018

Genre: Fiction - Historical - General

Retail Price: $15.99

Pages: 320

Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author Kristina McMorris comes another unforgettable novel inspired by a stunning piece of history. 

2 CHILDREN FOR SALE

The sign is a last resort. It sits on a farmhouse porch in 1931, but could be found anywhere in an era of breadlines, bank runs and broken dreams. It could have been written by any mother facing impossible choices.

For struggling reporter Ellis Reed, the gut-wrenching scene evokes memories of his family's dark past. He snaps a photograph of the children, not meant for publication. But when it leads to his big break, the consequences are more devastating than he ever imagined.

At the paper, Lillian Palmer is haunted by her role in all that happened. She is far too familiar with the heartbreak of children deemed unwanted. As the bonds of motherhood are tested, she and Ellis must decide how much they are willing to risk to mend a fractured family.

Inspired by an actual newspaper photograph that stunned the nation, Sold on a Monday is a powerful novel of love, redemption, and the unexpected paths that bring us home.

View descriptions at Amazon.com

Recommended

A Reliable Wife
by Robert Goolrick

Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered...

Life After Life: A Novel
by Kate Atkinson

"One of the best novels I've read this century. Kate Atkinson is a marvel. There aren't enough breathless adjectives to describe LIFE AFTER LIFE:...

The Light Between Oceans:...
by M. L. Stedman

AFTER FOUR HARROWING YEARS ON THE WESTERN Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly...

Lilac Girls: A Novel
by Martha Hall Kelly

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable...

The Tattooist of...
by Heather Morris

The #1 International BestsellerThis beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust...

The Aviator's Wife: A...
by Melanie Benjamin

In the spirit of Loving Frank and The Paris Wife, acclaimed novelist Melanie Benjamin pulls back the curtain on the marriage of one of America's most...

The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library...

The Kitchen House
by Kathleen Grissom

Gone with the Wind is turned inside out in this tragic, page-turning novel in which a white indentured servant girl lives and works with black...

The Alice Network
by Kate Quinn

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network...

Reviews