Historical - General

1-30 of 2932

A Reliable Wife

Robert Goolrick

Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for "a reliable wife." But when Catherine Lan...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2010

Highlander Most Wanted: The Montgomer...

Maya Banks

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Highlander Most...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2013

The Thirteenth Tale

Diane Setterfield

Settle down to enjoy a rousing good ghost story with Diane Setterfield's debut novel, The Thirteenth Tale. Setterfield has rejuvenated the genre with this closely plotted, clever foray into a world of secrets, confused identities, li...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2007

Never Seduce a Scot: The Montgomerys ...

Maya Banks

This sinfully sexy new romance from Maya Banks features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.b  Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but o...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2012

The Bridegroom Wore Plaid

Grace Burrowes

In an effort to preserve the family estate, Ian MacGregor, the Earl of Balfour, must marry for money. When a promising match emerges in the form of Genie Daniels, a rich English heiress, Ian begins devising a strategy to woo her. When...

Paperback
Published: Dec 2012

Remember When

Judith McNaught

Judith McNaught's last enchanting bestseller, Until You, was hailed as 'brilliantly done and completely entertaining... ripe plot twists... a fine supporting cast' (Ocala Star-Banner). Now, with more than fourteen million books in pr...

Paperback
Published: Oct 1997

Pegasus: A Novel

Danielle Steel

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn a rich historical novel of family and World War II, #1 New York Times bestselling author Danielle Steel unfurls a powerful saga that spans generations and continents. This is a story of courage, friendship,...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2015

Life After Life: A Novel

Kate Atkinson

"One of the best novels I've read this century. Kate Atkinson is a marvel. There aren't enough breathless adjectives to describe LIFE AFTER LIFE: Dazzling, witty, moving, joyful, mournful, profound."--Gillian Flynn, author o...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2013

Black Sheep

Georgette Heyer

Abigail Wendover, on the shelf at 28, is kept busy when her niece falls head over heels in love with a handsome fortune hunter and Abbie is forced into a confrontation with his scandalous uncle.Miles Calvery is the black sheep of his ...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2008

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Heather Morris

The #1 International BestsellerThis beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love sto...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2018

Bring Up the Bodies: A Novel (John Ma...

Hilary Mantel

WINNER OF THE 2012 MAN BOOKER PRIZEWINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK AWARD Named One of the 10 Best Books of the Year byThe New York Times Book Review • The Washington Post• Publishers WeeklyNamed a Best Book of the Year byThe New Y...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2013

The Shoemaker's Wife

Adriana Trigiani

Beloved New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani returns with the most epic and ambitious novel of her career—a breathtaking multigenerational love story that spans two continents, two World Wars, and the quest of two star...

Paperback
Published: Dec 2012

The Dovekeepers

Alice Hoffman

Over five years in the writing, The Dovekeepers is Alice Hoffman's most ambitious and mesmerizing novel, a tour de force of imagination and research, set in ancient Israel. In 70 C.E., nine hundred Jews held out for months against arm...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2012

The Sanctuary

Raymond Khoury

After centuries of destruction, one unsuspecting woman stands at the center of a conspiracy that could change the world forever.

Paperback
Published: Aug 2008

The Invention of Wings: A Novel

Sue Monk Kidd

From the celebrated author of The Secret Life of Bees, a New York Times bestselling novel about two unforgettable American women.Writing at the height of her narrative and imaginative gifts, Sue Monk Kidd presents a masterpiece of hop...

Paperback
Published: May 2015

The Art Forger

B. A. Shapiro

On March 18, 1990, thirteen works of art worth today over $500 million were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. It remains the largest unsolved art heist in history, and Claire Roth, a struggling young artist, i...

Paperback
Published: May 2013

Sold on a Monday

Kristina McMorris

From New York Times bestselling author Kristina McMorris comes another unforgettable novel inspired by a stunning piece of history. 2 CHILDREN FOR SALEThe sign is a last resort. It sits on a farmhouse porch in 1931, but could be foun...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2018

Red Sky at Morning

Richard Bradford

The classic coming-of-age story set during World War II about the enduring spirit of youth and the values in life that count.

Paperback
Published: Jun 1999

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Kim Michele Richardson

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything―everything except books, that is.  Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own  traveling librarian, Cussy Mary...

Paperback
Published: May 2019

Grave Goods (Mistress of the Art of D...

Ariana Franklin

The "richly detailed, almost indecently thrilling" (New York Times) follow up to The Serpent's Tale When a fire at Glastonbury Abbey reveals two skeletons, rumor has it they may belong to King Arthur and Queen Guinevere. Ki...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2010

Lilac Girls: A Novel

Martha Hall Kelly

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2017

The Samurai's Garden

Gail Tsukiyama

divThe daughter of a Chinese mother and a Japanese father, Tsukiyama uses the Japanese invasion of China during the late 1930s as a somber backdrop for her unusual story about a 20-year-old Chinese painter named Stephen who is sent to...

Paperback
Published: May 1996

The Valley of Amazement

Amy Tan

Amy Tan's The Valley of Amazement is a sweeping, evocative epic of two women's intertwined fates and their search for identity, that moves from the lavish parlors of Shanghai courtesans to the fog-shrouded mountains of a remote Chines...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2014

The Little Stranger

Sarah Waters

Unabridged CDs • 14 CDs, 18 hoursAbundantly atmospheric and elegantly told, The Little Stranger is Sarah Waters's most thrilling and ambitious novel yet.

Paperback
Published: May 2010

The Enchantress of Florence

Salman Rushdie

The Enchantress of Florence is the story of a mysterious woman, a great beauty believed to possess the powers of enchantment and sorcery, attempting to command her own destiny in a man's world. It is the story of two cities at the hei...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2009

His Wicked Reputation

Madeline Hunter

From the New York Times bestselling Madeline Hunter comes this first in a stunning new trilogy about three irresistibly attractive brothers.  This is the story of the bastard brother.... For fans of Mary Balogh and Amanda Quick. Ga...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2015

Believe

Victoria Alexander

Tessa St. James thinks as little of love as she does of the Arthurian legend--it's a myth. But when an enchanted tome falls into the teacher's hands, she finds she must rethink her philosophy. Suddenly in Merlin's Camelot, Tessa will ...

Paperback
Published: Jul 1998

The Golden Ocean

Patrick O'Brian

Commodore (late Admiral) Anson's fatefaul circumnavigation of the globe in 1740, wherein Anson and his men encounter disaster, disease, and astonishing success, is the ground to The Golden Ocean. Here ia a tale certain to please not o...

Paperback
Published: Oct 1996

The Alice Network

Kate Quinn

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for ...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2017

The Orphan's Tale

Pam Jenoff

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.&qu...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2017
  • 1-30 of 2932

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up