Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens Paperback Book

Details

Rent Where the Crawdads Sing

Author: Delia Owens

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell

Format: Unabridged-CD, Paperback

Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks

Published: Apr 2019

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Retail Price: $24.99

Discs: 10

Synopsis

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

View descriptions at Amazon.com

Recommended

The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

In Jackson, Mississippi, in 1962, there are lines that are not crossed. With the Civil Rights movement exploding all around them, three women start a...

Into the Water: A Novel
by Paula Hawkins

The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon The Girl on the Train returns with Into the Water, her addictive new novel of...

A Week in Winter
by Maeve Binchy

Maeve Binchy, "the grand story teller,"* returns with a cast of characters you will never forget when they all spend a winter week together...

The Goldfinch
by Donna Tartt

The author of the classic bestsellers The Secret History and The Little Friend returns with a brilliant, highly anticipated new novel. Composed with...

South of Broad
by Pat Conroy

The publishing event of the season: The one and only Pat Conroy returns, with a big, sprawling novel that is at once a love letter to Charleston and...

Cutting For Stone
by Abraham Verghese

A sweeping, emotionally riveting first novel—an enthralling family saga of Africa and America, doctors and patients, exile and home.Marion and Shiva...

Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng

Entertainment Weekly's #1 Must-Read Book for Fall From the bestselling author of Everything I Never Told You, a riveting novel that traces the...

The Guernsey Literary and...
by Annie Fiery Barrows

" I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect...

Orphan Train: A Novel
by Christina Baker Kline

"Christina Baker Kline is a relentless storyteller. Once she sets her hook and starts reeling you in, struggle becomes counterproductive. The...

Reviews