Business & Economics - Economic History

1-30 of 31

Freedom's Forge: How American Busines...

Arthur Herman

SELECTED BY THE ECONOMIST AS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEARRemarkable as it may seem today, there once was a time when the president of the United States could pick up the phone and ask the president of General Motors to resign his...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2013

Land of Promise: An Economic History ...

Michael Lind

A sweeping and original work of economic history by Michael Lind, one of America's leading intellectuals, Land of Promise recounts the epic story of America's rise to become the world's dominant economy. As ideological free marketers ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2013

Lost Decades: The Making of America's...

Menzie D. Chinn

A clear, authoritative guide to the crisis of 2008, its continuing repercussions, and the needed reforms ahead.The U.S. economy lost the first decade of the twenty-first century to an ill-conceived boom and subsequent bust. It is in d...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2012

The Road to Serfdom: Text and Documen...

F. A. Hayek

An unimpeachable classic work in political philosophy, intellectual and cultural history, and economics, The Road to Serfdom has inspired and infuriated politicians, scholars, and general readers for half a century. Originally publish...

Paperback
Published: May 2007

Glass House: The 1% Economy and the S...

Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**&q...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2018

Global Economic History

Robert C. Allen

Why are some countries rich and others poor? In 1500, global income differences were small, but disparities have grown dramatically since Columbus reached America. In this Very Short Introduction, Robert C. Allen shows how the interpl...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2011

Unfinished Business: The Unexplored C...

Tamim Bayoumi

A penetrating critique tracing how under-regulated trading between European and U.S. banks led to the 2008 financial crisis—with a prescription for preventing another meltdown There have been numerous books examining the 2008 financ...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2018

Gdp: A Brief But Affectionate History...

Diane Coyle

Why did the size of the U.S. economy increase by 3 percent on one day in mid-2013--or Ghana's balloon by 60 percent overnight in 2010? Why did the U.K. financial industry show its fastest expansion ever at the end of 2008--just as the...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2015

The Great Degeneration: How Instituti...

Niall Ferguson

A searching and provocative examination of the widespread institutional rot that threatens our collective future What causes rich countries to lose their way? Symptoms of decline are all around us today: slowing growth, crushing debts...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2014

The Myth of the Rational Market: A Hi...

Justin Fox

"Do we really need yet another book about the financial crisis? Yes, we do—because this one is different….A must-read for anyone who wants to understand the mess we're in."—Paul Krugman, New York Times Book Review &qu...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2011

The Darwin Economy: Liberty, Competit...

Robert H. Frank

Who was the greater economist--Adam Smith or Charles Darwin? The question seems absurd. Darwin, after all, was a naturalist, not an economist. But Robert Frank, New York Times economics columnist and best-selling author of The Economi...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2012

The End of Normal: The Great Crisis a...

James K. Galbraith

From one of the most respected economic thinkers and writers of our time, a brilliant argument about the history and future of economic growth.The years since the Great Crisis of 2008 have seen slow growth, high unemployment, falling ...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2015

Double Entry: How the Merchants of Ve...

Jane Gleeson-White

"Lively history. . . . Show[s] double entry's role in the creation of the accounting profession, and even of capitalism itself."—The New YorkerFilled with colorful characters and history, Double Entry takes us from the anc...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2013

The Vision of Alexander Hamilton: Fou...

Alexander Hamilton

This republication of Hamilton's four great economic works comes at the instigation of American economist Lyndon LaRouche, who has stressed the urgency for an understanding of Hamilton's economic outlook to confront the profound econo...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2016

Balance: The Economics of Great Power...

Glenn Hubbard

"Hubbard and Kane synthesize economics, politics, and psychology to develop a new audacious theory of why countries decline. Compulsory reading for anyone who wants to understand the major issues that America now faces" (Jam...

Paperback
Published: May 2014

A Little History of Economics (Little...

Niall Kishtainy

A lively, inviting account of the history of economics, told through events from ancient to modern times and the ideas of great thinkers in the field What causes poverty? Are economic crises inevitable under capitalism? Is government ...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

China's Economy: What Everyone Needs ...

Arthur R. Kroeber

China's Economy: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a concise introduction to the most astonishing economic growth story of the last three decades. In the 1980s China was an impoverished backwater, struggling to escape the political ...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2016

The Money Culture

Michael Lewis

The classic warts-and-all portrait of the 1980s financial scene.The 1980s was the most outrageous and turbulent era in the financial market since the crash of '29, not only on Wall Street but around the world. Michael Lewis, as a trai...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2011

Who Cooked Adam Smith's Dinner?: A St...

Katrine Marcal

A funny, clever, and thought-provoking examination of the myth of the "economic man" and its impact on the global economy How do you get your dinner? That is the basic question of economics. When economist and philosopher Ad...

Paperback
Published: May 2017

Postcapitalism: A Guide to Our Future...

Paul Mason

We know that our world is undergoing seismic change―but how can we emerge from the crisis a fairer, more equal society?Over the past two centuries or so, capitalism has undergone profound changes―economic cycles that veer from boo...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2017

All the Devils Are Here: The Hidden H...

Bethany McLean

The New York Times bestseller hailed as "the best business book of 2010" (Huffington Post). As soon as the financial crisis erupted, the finger-pointing began. Should the blame fall on Wall Street, Main Street, or Pennsylv...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2011

The Origin of Capitalism: A Longer Vi...

Ellen Meiksins Wood

How did the dynamic economic system we know as capitalism develop among the peasants and lords of feudal Europe?In The Origin of Capitalism, a now-classic work of history, Ellen Meiksins Wood offers readers a clear and accessible intr...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2017

House of Debt: How They (and You) Cau...

Atif Mian

The Great American Recession resulted in the loss of eight million jobs between 2007 and 2009. More than four million homes were lost to foreclosures. Is it a coincidence that the United States witnessed a dramatic rise in household d...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2015

The Fourth Revolution: The Global Rac...

John Micklethwait

From the bestselling authors of The Right Nation, a visionary argument that our current crisis in government is nothing less than the fourth radical transition in the history of the nation-stateDysfunctional government: It's become ...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2015

A History of the United States in Fiv...

Scott Nations

In this absorbing, smart, and accessible blend of economic and cultural history, Scott Nations, a longtime trader, financial engineer, and CNBC contributor, takes us on a journey through the five significant stock market crashes in th...

Paperback
Published: May 2018

On the Brink: Inside the Race to Stop...

Henry M. Paulson

Former Secretary of the Treasury Hank Paulson -- who was at the very epicenter of the crashing financial markets -- provides a startling, first- person account of what really happened during this time of global financial crisis - an...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2013

The Inequality Hoax

James Piereson

The controversy over inequality has gathered steam with the publication of Thomas Piketty's new book, Capital in the Twenty-First Century, a dense work of economic history that documents the rise of income inequality in recent decades...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2014

Economic and Social History of Mediev...

Henri Pirenne

2014 Reprint of 1937 Edition. Full facsimile of the original edition, not reproduced with Optical Recognition Software. Henri Pirenne's reputation today rests on three contributions to European history: for what has become known as ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2014

The Rational Optimist: How Prosperity...

Matt Ridley

"Ridley writes with panache, wit, and humor and displays remarkable ingenuity in finding ways to present complicated materials for the lay reader." — Los Angeles TimesIn a bold and provocative interpretation of economic hi...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2011

Econned

Yves Smith

Why are we in such a financial mess today?  There are lots of proximate causes: over-leverage, global imbalances, bad financial technology that lead to widespread underestimation of risk. But these are all symptoms. Until we isolate ...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2011
  • 1-30 of 31

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up