Business & Economics - Economic History

1-30 of 35

The Great Degeneration: How Instituti...

Niall Ferguson

A searching and provocative examination of the widespread institutional rot that threatens our collective future What causes rich countries to lose their way? Symptoms of decline are all around us today: slowing growth, crushing debts...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2014

Freedom's Forge: How American Busines...

Arthur Herman

SELECTED BY THE ECONOMIST AS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEARRemarkable as it may seem today, there once was a time when the president of the United States could pick up the phone and ask the president of General Motors to resign his...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2013

Land of Promise: An Economic History ...

Michael Lind

A sweeping and original work of economic history by Michael Lind, one of America's leading intellectuals, Land of Promise recounts the epic story of America's rise to become the world's dominant economy. As ideological free marketers ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2013

Lost Decades: The Making of America's...

Menzie D. Chinn

A clear, authoritative guide to the crisis of 2008, its continuing repercussions, and the needed reforms ahead.The U.S. economy lost the first decade of the twenty-first century to an ill-conceived boom and subsequent bust. It is in d...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2012

Balance: The Economics of Great Power...

Glenn Hubbard

"Hubbard and Kane synthesize economics, politics, and psychology to develop a new audacious theory of why countries decline. Compulsory reading for anyone who wants to understand the major issues that America now faces" (Jam...

Paperback
Published: May 2014

China's Economy: What Everyone Needs ...

Arthur R. Kroeber

China's Economy: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a concise introduction to the most astonishing economic growth story of the last three decades. In the 1980s China was an impoverished backwater, struggling to escape the political ...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2016

The Road to Serfdom: Text and Documen...

F. A. Hayek

An unimpeachable classic work in political philosophy, intellectual and cultural history, and economics, The Road to Serfdom has inspired and infuriated politicians, scholars, and general readers for half a century. Originally publish...

Paperback
Published: May 2007

Glass House: The 1% Economy and the S...

Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**&q...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2018

Global Economic History

Robert C. Allen

Why are some countries rich and others poor? In 1500, global income differences were small, but disparities have grown dramatically since Columbus reached America. In this Very Short Introduction, Robert C. Allen shows how the interpl...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2011

The Great Convergence: Information Te...

Richard Baldwin

An Economist Best Book of the YearA Financial Times Best Economics Book of the YearA Fast Company"7 Books Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella Says You Need to Lead Smarter"Between 1820 and 1990, the share of world income going to to...

Paperback
Published: May 2019

Unfinished Business: The Unexplored C...

Tamim Bayoumi

A penetrating critique tracing how under-regulated trading between European and U.S. banks led to the 2008 financial crisis—with a prescription for preventing another meltdown There have been numerous books examining the 2008 financ...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2018

Gdp: A Brief But Affectionate History...

Diane Coyle

Why did the size of the U.S. economy increase by 3 percent on one day in mid-2013--or Ghana's balloon by 60 percent overnight in 2010? Why did the U.K. financial industry show its fastest expansion ever at the end of 2008--just as the...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2015

Protocols of Money: A Primer on the H...

Ian D'Souza

Money is the lifeblood of the economic system and the way we function as a society. Most of us devote 8-12 hours a day seeking to make money and worry about it, trying to determine how much we earn to spend or invest. But what is the...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2021

Dark Towers: Deutsche Bank, Donald Tr...

David Enrich

#1 Wall Street Journal Bestsellers, The global bestseller hailed as "a master class in financial sleuthing" (The Guardian), Dark Towers is New York Times business investigations editor David Enrich's explosive expose of Deut...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2021

The Myth of the Rational Market: A Hi...

Justin Fox

"Do we really need yet another book about the financial crisis? Yes, we do—because this one is different….A must-read for anyone who wants to understand the mess we're in."—Paul Krugman, New York Times Book Review &qu...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2011

Double Entry: How the Merchants of Ve...

Jane Gleeson-White

"Lively history. . . . Show[s] double entry's role in the creation of the accounting profession, and even of capitalism itself."—The New YorkerFilled with colorful characters and history, Double Entry takes us from the anc...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2013

The Vision of Alexander Hamilton: Fou...

Alexander Hamilton

This republication of Hamilton's four great economic works comes at the instigation of American economist Lyndon LaRouche, who has stressed the urgency for an understanding of Hamilton's economic outlook to confront the profound econo...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2016

Austrian Economics

Steven Horwitz

What if economics began with people?\n\nChoice is an essential feature of the human condition. Every time we embark on a given plan of action, big or small, we make a choice. Whereas many economists model people’s behavior using...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2020

A Little History of Economics (Little...

Niall Kishtainy

A lively, inviting account of the history of economics, told through events from ancient to modern times and the ideas of great thinkers in the field What causes poverty? Are economic crises inevitable under capitalism? Is government ...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

The Money Culture

Michael Lewis

The classic warts-and-all portrait of the 1980s financial scene.The 1980s was the most outrageous and turbulent era in the financial market since the crash of '29, not only on Wall Street but around the world. Michael Lewis, as a trai...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2011

Postcapitalism: A Guide to Our Future...

Paul Mason

We know that our world is undergoing seismic change―but how can we emerge from the crisis a fairer, more equal society?Over the past two centuries or so, capitalism has undergone profound changes―economic cycles that veer from boo...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2017

The Everything Economics Book: From T...

David A. Mayer

The Dismal Science. The Worldly Philosophy. The Science of Scarcity. Most people think economics is one of the most challenging and complex fields of study. But with this book, it doesn't have to be! You will learn how the U.S. econom...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2010

All the Devils Are Here: The Hidden H...

Bethany McLean

The New York Times bestseller hailed as "the best business book of 2010" (Huffington Post). As soon as the financial crisis erupted, the finger-pointing began. Should the blame fall on Wall Street, Main Street, or Pennsylv...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2011

The Origin of Capitalism: A Longer Vi...

Ellen Meiksins Wood

How did the dynamic economic system we know as capitalism develop among the peasants and lords of feudal Europe?In The Origin of Capitalism, a now-classic work of history, Ellen Meiksins Wood offers readers a clear and accessible intr...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2017

House of Debt: How They (and You) Cau...

Atif Mian

The Great American Recession resulted in the loss of eight million jobs between 2007 and 2009. More than four million homes were lost to foreclosures. Is it a coincidence that the United States witnessed a dramatic rise in household d...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2015

The Fourth Revolution: The Global Rac...

John Micklethwait

From the bestselling authors of The Right Nation, a visionary argument that our current crisis in government is nothing less than the fourth radical transition in the history of the nation-stateDysfunctional government: It's become ...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2015

Nobody Knows Anything: Investing Basi...

MR Robert Moriarty

It may be as important for investors to know what not to do in investing as to know what to do. While investors are bombarded with the "buy me, buy me" books, little is said to train them in what to avoid. Nobody Knows Anyt...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2016

A History of the United States in Fiv...

Scott Nations

In this absorbing, smart, and accessible blend of economic and cultural history, Scott Nations, a longtime trader, financial engineer, and CNBC contributor, takes us on a journey through the five significant stock market crashes in th...

Paperback
Published: May 2018

On the Brink: Inside the Race to Stop...

Henry M. Paulson

Former Secretary of the Treasury Hank Paulson -- who was at the very epicenter of the crashing financial markets -- provides a startling, first- person account of what really happened during this time of global financial crisis - an...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2013

The Growth Delusion: Wealth, Poverty,...

David Pilling

A provocative critique of the pieties and fallacies of our obsession with economic growth We live in a society in which a priesthood of economists, wielding impenetrable mathematical formulas, set the framework for public debate. Ulti...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2019
  • 1-30 of 35

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up