History - Holocaust

1-30 of 32

Defiance: The Bielski Partisans

Nechama Tec

The prevailing image of European Jews during the Holocaust years is one of helpless victims under a death sentence, unable to fight consignment to the ghettos, to the camps, and to the gas chambers. In fact, many Jews struggled alone ...

Paperback
Published: Dec 2008

The Nazis Next Door: How America Beca...

Eric Lichtblau

"A captivating book rooted in first-rate research." — New York Times Book Review New York Times bestseller — Espionage category For the first time, once-secret government records and interviews tell the full story of t...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2015

Facing the Lion (Abridged Edition): M...

Simone Arnold

Simone Arnold is an ordinary French schoolgirl spirited and stubborn. Then the Nazis march in, demanding complete conformity. Friends become enemies. Teachers spout Nazi propaganda. School officials recruit for the Hitler Youth. Simon...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2006

Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Men...

Lucette Matalon Lagnado

During World War II, Nazi doctor Josef Mengele subjected some 3,000 twins to medical experiments of unspeakable horror; only 160 survived. In this remarkable narrative, the life of Auschwitz's Angel of Death is told in counterpoint to...

Paperback
Published: May 1992

Why the Germans? Why the Jews?: Envy,...

Gotz Aly

A provocative and insightful analysis that sheds new light on one of the most puzzling and historically unsettling conundrumsWhy did the Holocaust happen in Germany, of all places? How did a country known for its culture and refinemen...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2015

Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survi...

Neal Bascomb

Hunting Eichmann is the first complete narrative of a relentless and harrowing international manhunt.When the Allies stormed Berlin in the last days of the Third Reich, Adolf Eichmann shed his SS uniform and vanished. Following his es...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2010

Two Among the Righteous Few: A Story ...

Marty Brounstein

Can hope be found amidst tragedy? Nestled in the hills on the western side of Jerusalem is a museum called Yad Vashem. There, people from around the world visit daily to learn about the tragic period of history from 1933 to 1945 kno...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2011

Refuge Denied: The St. Louis Passenge...

Sarah A. Ogilvie

The ordeal of the refugee ship St. Louis has become a symbol of the world's indifference to the plight of European Jewry on the eve of the Holocaust. In the spring of 1939, more than nine hundred Jewish refugees boarded the St. Louis ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2010

Outcry: Holocaust Memoirs

Manny Steinberg

Outcry - Holocaust Memoirs, a profoundly moving autobiography Manny Steinberg spent his teens in Nazi concentration camps in Germany and Poland, miraculously surviving while millions perished. This is his story. Born in 1925 in the ...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2015

Born Survivors: Three Young Mothers a...

Wendy Holden

The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too—a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer's Wif...

Paperback
Published: May 2016

Un Amor En Auschwitz / A Love in Ausc...

La historia de un prisionero polaco y una judía que se enamoraron en el campo de exterminio. Un hecho real, inexplicable e injustamente olvidado, que la periodista Francesca Paci reconstruye por primera vez a traves de fuentes extra...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2018

The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story

Diane Ackerman

The movie The Zookeeper's Wife, based on the New York Times bestselling book, opens March 2017.1939: the Germans have invaded Poland. The keepers of the Warsaw zoo, Jan and Antonina Zabinski, survive the bombardment of the city, only ...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2008

Anatomy of a Genocide: The Life and D...

Omer Bartov

"A substantive contribution to the history of ethnic strife and extreme violence" (TheWall Street Journal) and a cautionary examination of how genocide can take root at the local level—turning neighbors, friends, and famil...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2019

Holocaust Memoirs of a Bergen-Belsen ...

Nanette Blitz Konig

A monument to the indestructible nature of the human spirit. In these compelling Holocaust memoirs, Nanette Blitz Konig relates her amazing story of survival during the Second World War when she, together with her family and millions ...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2018

Return of the Exiled

Max Buchdahl

In Return of the Exiled, Max Buchdahl details the passage of his family throughout Germany in the years prior to their immigration to the United States. Return of the Exiled parallels the past, as Max's family attempts to get out of N...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2014

Rescue Board: The Untold Story of Ame...

Rebecca Erbelding

WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARDFor more than a decade, a harsh Congressional immigration policy kept most Jewish refugees out of America, even as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. In 1944, the United States finally acted. That ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2019

The Holocaust Industry: Reflections o...

Norman Finkelstein

In his iconoclastic and controversial study, Norman G. Finkelstein moves from an interrogation of the place the Holocaust has come to occupy in global culture to a disturbing examination of recent Holocaust compensation settlements. I...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2015

The Risk of Sorrow: Conversations wit...

Valerie Foster

What can the few remaining survivors of the Holocaust teach us before they are gone? What is it that hasn't yet been said? A high school teacher is given the opportunity to find out when one such survivor chooses her to preserve her f...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2014

Justice at Dachau: The Trials of an A...

Joshua Greene

Denson, just 32 years old, with one criminal trial to his name, led a brilliant and successful prosecution, but nearly two years of exposure to such horrors took its toll. His wife divorced him, his weight dropped to 116 pounds, and h...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2017

Why?: Explaining the Holocaust

Peter Hayes

"Superbly written and researched, synthesizing the classics while digging deep into a vast repository of primary sources." ―Josef Joffe, Wall Street JournalWhy? explores one of the most tragic events in human history by ad...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2018

Bread or Death: Memories of My Childh...

Milton Mendel Kleinberg

The war brought about scarcities of just about everything...except misery."Alle raise," (everybody out), the German soldiers screamed as they pounded on our door with the butts of their rifles. And thus began a 4,500-mile jo...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2014

Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis...

Caroline Moorehead

From the author of the New York Times bestseller A Train in Winter comes the absorbing story of a French village that helped save thousands hunted by the Gestapo during World War II—told in full for the first time.Le Chambon-sur-Lig...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2015

DEBUNKING HOLOCAUST DENIAL THEORIES: ...

James Morcan

DEBUNKING HOLOCAUST DENIAL THEORIES: Two Non-Jews Affirm the Historicity of the Nazi Genocide, by independent researchers and filmmakers James Morcan & Lance Morcan with a foreword by Holocaust survivor Hetty E. Verolme (author of The...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2016

The Pharmacist of Auschwitz

Patricia Posner

The Pharmacist of Auschwitz is the little known story of Victor Capesius, a Bayer pharmaceutical salesman from Romania who, at the age of 35, joined the Nazi SS in 1943 and quickly became the chief pharmacist at the largest death camp...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2017

Dear Andrew: Letters and Memoirs of a...

Andrew Ross

Endre Lovinger was only seventeen years old when the Nazis invaded Budapest, Hungary, in March 1944. Taken from his family at gunpoint to work on a Jewish Forced Labor Brigade, he eventually escaped and found himself on the run trying...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2017

From Broken Glass: Finding Hope in Hi...

Steve Ross

From the survivor of ten Nazi concentration camps who went on to create the New England Holocaust Memorial, a "devastating...inspirational" memoir (The Today Show) about finding strength in the face of despair.On August 14, ...

Paperback
Published: May 2019

Hitler's First Victims: The Quest for...

Timothy W. Ryback

The remarkable story of Josef Hartinger, the German prosecutor who risked everything to bring to justice the first killers of the Holocaust and whose efforts would play a key role in the Nuremberg tribunal.At 9 am on April 13, 1933,...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2015

The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of...

Anders Rydell

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

East West Street: On the Origins of "...

Philippe Sands

Winner of the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for NonfictionA profound and profoundly important book—a moving personal detective story, an uncovering of secret pasts, and a book that explores the creation and development of world-changi...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2017

After Auschwitz: A Story of Heartbrea...

Eva Schloss

A spellbinding storyteller and the closest surviving link to the Frank family, Eva discusses her life before and after the war in this searingly candid memoirEva was arrested by the Nazis on her 15th birthday and sent to Auschwit...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2014
  • 1-30 of 32

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up