Political Science - Government - U.s. Government

1-30 of 58

Unlimited Access: An FBI Agent Inside...

Gary Aldrich

#1 New York Times Bestseller

Paperback
Published: Jan 1998

The Right Nation: Conservative Power ...

John Micklethwait

How, in a relatively short time, did America veer so far to the right as to become incomprehensible to Europe, as it would no doubt be to Richard Nixon? And why is it likely to remain so no matter who occupies the Oval Office? Like la...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2005

How to Talk to a Liberal (If You Must...

Ann Coulter

CAUTION: You're about to enter the world of Ann CoulterHow to Talk to a Liberal (If You Must), the instant New York Times bestseller, shows why Ann Coulter has become the most recognized—and controversial—conservative intellectual...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2005

Students Guide To American Political ...

George W. Carey

Who are the most influential thinkers, and which are the most important concepts, events, and documents in the study of the American political tradition? How ought we regard the beliefs and motivations of the founders, the debate over...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2005

Losers: The Road to Everyplace but th...

Michael Lewis

A wickedly funny and astute chronicle of the 1996 presidential campaign--and how we go about choosing our leaders at the turn of the century. In it Michael Lewis brings to the political scene the same brilliance that distinguished his...

Paperback
Published: Jul 1998

Treason: Liberal Treachery from the C...

Ann Coulter

"Liberals' loyalty to the United States is off-limits as a subject of political debate. Why is the relative patriotism of the two parties the only issue that is out of bounds for rational discussion?"In a stunning follow-up ...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2004

Our Endangered Values: America's Mora...

Jimmy Carter

President Jimmy Carter offers a passionate defense of separation of church and state. He warns that fundamentalists are deliberately blurring the lines between politics and religion.As a believing Christian, Carter takes on issues tha...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2006

American Fascists: The Christian Righ...

Chris Hedges

Twenty-five years ago, when Pat Robertson and other radio and televangelists first spoke of the United States becoming a Christian nation that would build a global Christian empire, it was hard to take such hyperbolic rhetoric serious...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2008

The O'Reilly Factor: The Good, the Ba...

Bill O'Reilly

The million-copy New York Times bestseller from the Fox News anchor who's brought new excitement–and massive amounts of populist common sense and rock-solid honesty–to television news.Now four seasons strong, Bill O'Reilly's night...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2002

America Beyond Capitalism: Reclaiming...

Gar Alperovitz

2011 edition, with a new introduction by the author and a new foreword by James Gustave Speth As discontent with the economic and political status quo mounts in the wake of the "great recession", America Beyond Capitalism...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2011

Where the Right Went Wrong: How Neoco...

Patrick J. Buchanan

American Empire is at its apex. We are the sole superpower with no potential challenger for a generation. We can reach any point on the globe with our cruise missiles and smart bombs and our culture penetrates every nook and cranny of...

Paperback
Published: May 2005

Plan of Attack

Bob Woodward

Plan of Attack is the definitive account of how and why President George W. Bush, his war council, and allies launched a preemptive attack to topple Saddam Hussein and occupy Iraq. Bob Woodward's latest landmark account of Washington ...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2004

Stupid White Men: ...And Other Sorry ...

Michael Moore

In the winter of 2002, Stupid White Men took America -- and the world -- by storm. Tired and skeptical of George W. Bush's high approval ating, frightened by the implications of the Enron scandal -- and generally just looking for a vo...

Paperback
Published: May 2004

The Pentagon's New Map: War and Peace...

Thomas P. M. Barnett

Building upon the works of Thomas Friedman, Samuel Huntington, and Francis Fukuyama, The Pentagon's New Map describes recent U.S. military history and strategy, discusses where America's forces will likely be heading in the near futur...

Paperback
Published: May 2005

Nuclear Terrorism: The Ultimate Preve...

Graham T. Allison

'Allison's comprehensive but accessible treatment of this vital subject is a major contribution to public understanding.' -The New York Times Book Review Americans in the twenty-first century are keenly aware of the many forms of te...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2005

A Pretext for War: 9/11, Iraq, and th...

James Bamford

In A Pretext for War, acclaimed author James Bamford–whose classic book The Puzzle Palace first revealed the existence of the National Security Agency–draws on his unparalleled access to top intelligence sources to produce a devas...

Paperback
Published: May 2005

Jawbreaker: The Attack on Bin Laden a...

Gary Berntsen

The Book the CIA Doesn't Want You to ReadGary Berntsen, the CIA's key commander coordinating the fight against the Taliban forces around Kabul, comes out from under cover for the first time to describe his no-holds-barred pursuit—an...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2006

Showdown at Gucci Gulch

Jeffrey Birnbaum

The Tax Reform Act of 1986 was the single most sweeping change in the history of America's income tax. It was also the best political and economic story of its time. Here, in the anecdotal style of The Making of the President, two Wal...

Paperback
Published: Apr 1988

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience ...

David Brock

In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler's The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painfu...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2003

The Confirmation Mess: Cleaning Up Th...

Stephen L. Carter

Stephen L. Carter tells what's wrong with our confirmation process, explains how it got that way, and suggests what we can do to fix it. Using the most recent confirmation battles as examples, Carter argues that our confirmation proce...

Paperback
Published: May 1995

Take It Back: A Battle Plan for Democ...

James Carville

TOP TEN REASONS WHY REPUBLICANS SUCK10. They're so incompetent they couldn't pour pee out of a boot if you wrote the instructions on the heel.9. They lie like a rug. They lie like a dog. They lie like . . . ummm . . . a dog's rug. We ...

Paperback
Published: Sep 2006

U.s. Armed Forces Nuclear, Biological...

"Dick Capt Usn (Ret)" Couch

Experts agree that the next terrorist attack on our soil will not come in the same form as September 11. The possibility of nuclear, chemical or biological attack is increasingly likely. The U.S. Armed Forces Nuclear, Chemical and Bio...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2003

Political Fictions

Joan Didion

In these coolly observant essays, Joan Didion looks at the American political process and at 'that handful of insiders who invent, year in and year out, the narrative of public life.' Through the deconstruction of the sound bites and ...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2002

Looking Forward to It: Or, How I Lear...

Stephen Elliott

Stephen Elliott does not know what to think of American voters, this year's desperate and heated run for presidency, or the legitimacy of the political system. He doesn't know whether to love John Kerry or try to love Howard Dean or ...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2004

Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the Am...

Niall Ferguson

Acclaimed historian Niall Ferguson ranges across the entire history of America's foreign entanglements and delves into all the dimensions of American power—military, economic, cultural, and political. The result is a book whose conc...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2005

America's Secret War: Inside the Hidd...

George Friedman

Dubbed by Barron's as "The Shadow CIA," George Friedman's global intelligence company, Stratfor, has provided analysis to Fortune 500 companies, news outlets, and even the U.S. government. Now Friedman delivers the geopoliti...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2004

America at the Crossroads: Democracy,...

Francis Fukuyama

Francis Fukuyama's criticism of the Iraq war put him at odds with neoconservative friends both within and outside the Bush administration. Here he explains how, in its decision to invade Iraq, the Bush administration failed in its ste...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2007

Winning the Future: A 21st Century Co...

Newt Gingrich

America's future in the twenty-first century, argues Newt Gingrich, will be determined by the decisions we make now. His book is a grass roots call to action--and will set the debate for the new administration and Congress.

Paperback
Published: Jun 2006

The New Pearl Harbor: Disturbing Ques...

David Ray Griffin

Taking to heart the classic idea that those who benefit from a crime ought to be investigated, here the eminent theologian David Ray Griffin sifts through the evidence about the attacks of 9/11--stories from the mainstream press, repo...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2004

How Congress Works and Why You Should...

Lee H. Hamilton

How Congress Works and Why You Should Care' is a concise introduction to the functions and vital role of the U.S. Congress by eminent former Congressman Lee H. Hamilton. Drawing on 34 years as a U.S. Representative, Hamilton explains ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2004
  • 1-30 of 58

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up