Mystery & Detective - Hard-boiled

1-30 of 316

Joyland (Hard Case Crime)

Stephen King

A STUNNING  NEW NOVEL FROM ONE OF THE BEST-SELLING AUTHORS OF ALL TIME!Set in a small-town North Carolina amusement park in 1973, Joyland tells the story of the summer in which college student Devin Jones comes to work as a carny and...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2013

The Fame Thief (Junior Bender #3)

Timothy Hallinan

THE HIGHLY ANTICIPATED, LAUGH-OUT-LOUD THIRD INSTALLMENT OF THE FAN-FAVORITE JUNIOR BENDER MYTERIES  There are not many people brave enough to say no to Irwin Dressler, Hollywood's scariest mob boss-turned-movie king. Even though Dr...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2014

Last to Die: A gripping psychological...

Arlene Hunt

He watches. He waits. He kills...When Jessie Conway survives a horrific mass high school shooting, in the aftermath she finds herself thrust into the media spotlight, drawing all kinds of attention. But some of it is the wrong kind....

Paperback
Published: Jun 2016

The Song Is You

Megan Abbott

On October 7, 1949, dark-haired starlet Jean Spangler kissed her five-year-old daughter good-bye and left for a night shoot at a Hollywood studio. 'Wish me luck,' she said as she crossed her fingers, winked, and walked away. She was n...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2008

Family Honor (Sunny Randall)

Robert B. Parker

Commissioned by actress Helen Hunt, who will star in the film version, FAMILY HONOR finds petite, blond private detective Sunny Randall going head-to-head with the mob, corrupt politicians, and the uppety parents of a teenage prostitu...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2000

Lush Life

Richard Price

A New York Times BestsellerOne of the most acclaimed novels of the year, Richard Price's Lush Life is a tale of two Lower East Sides: One a high-priced bohemia, the other a home to hardship, its residents pushed to the edges of their ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2009

Twelve Mile Limit

Randy Wayne White

It starts out as a fun excursion for four divers off the Florida coast. Two days later only one is found alive-naked atop a light tower in the Gulf of Mexico. What happened during those 48 hours? Doc Ford thinks he's prepared for the ...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2003

Rules of Prey (Lucas Davenport Myster...

John Sandford

Lieutenant Lucas Davenport, highly touted killer detective, invents intricate video games that he sells for cash. Called in to aid the Minneapolis team scrambling to stop a psychopathic serial woman-slayer, Lucas almost meets his matc...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2005

Chasing Darkness: An Elvis Cole Novel...

Robert Crais

Elvis Cole is Back--In a Desperate Fight to Clear his Name... IIt's fire season, and the hills of Los Angeles are burning. When police and fire department personnel rush door to door in a frenzied evacuation effort, they discover the ...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2009

Bum's Rush

G. M. Ford

When a homeless woman says she's the mother of a deceased rock idol, sometimes private eye Leo Waterman takes it upon himself to investigate the lady's claim. With the help of "the boys", a band of dissolute deputies, Leo begins a lif...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2012

Cast in Stone

G. M. Ford

Leo's boyhood hero, Henry "Heck" Sundstrom was larger than life. Lately, however Heck's life has been spiraling out of control. First the honeymoon boating accident that killed Heck's son and new daughter-in- law, Allison...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2012

Drug of Choice

Michael Crichton

On a secret island in the Caribbean, bioengineers have devised a vacation resort like no other, promising the ultimate escape. But when Dr. Roger Clark investigates, he discovers the dark secret of Eden Island and of Advance Biosystem...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2013

Easy Go

Michael Crichton

Beneath the sands of the Egyptian desert lies treasure beyond imagining. And when a professor of archaeology finds clues to the location of a Pharaoh's lost tomb in ancient hieroglyphs, he hatches a plan to find the burial site - and ...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2013

Frozen Assets: An Officer Gunnhildur ...

Quentin Bates

A body is found floating in the harbor of a rural Icelandic fishing village. Was it an accident, or something more sinister?  It's up to Officer Gunnhildur, a sardonic female cop, to find out. Her investigation uncovers a web of corr...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2012

Scratch One

Michael Crichton

To prevent an arms shipment from reaching the Middle East a terrorist group has been carrying out targeted assassinations in Egypt...Portugal...Denmark...France. In response, the United States sends one of its deadliest agents to take...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2013

Crucified Dreams

Joe R. Lansdale

Crossing noir with the supernatural, this luridly visceral anthology attacks polite society and plunges into the unthinkable horrors lurking in its underbelly. Searching for some beauty in a time of increasing poverty and neglect, the...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2011

Dark Waters

L. L. Bartlett

For Jeff Resnick, the trouble starts with a near-death experience. Brenda's family comes to visit and one of them reminds Jeff of the thugs who mugged him. His brother has taken possession of an expensive boat. The yacht holds a dea...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2013

Murder in Saint-Germain (An Aimée Le...

Cara Black

A Los Angeles Times National BestsellerA BBC Best Summer Read of 2017A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2017 A Huffington Post Best Mystery of 2017Paris, July 1999: Private investigator Aimee Leduc is walking through Saint-Germain whe...

Paperback
Published: May 2018

The Girl With the Deep Blue Eyes

Lawrence Block

In the depths of her blue eyes, he glimpsed... murder.Cashed out from the NYPD after 24 years, Doak Miller operates as a private eye in steamy small-town Florida, doing jobs for the local police. Like posing as a hit man and wearin...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2016

Get Back Jack (The Hunt For Jack Reac...

Diane Capri

USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI Does It Again! NEW Hunt for Jack Reacher Novel!   "Full of thrills and tension, but smart and human, too. Kim Otto is a great, great character - I love her." Lee Child, #1 World Wid...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2013

Quarry

Max Allan Collins

The assignment was simple: stake out the man's home and kill him. Easy work for a professional like Quarry. But when things go horribly wrong, Quarry finds himself with a new mission: learn who hired him, and make the bastard pay.NOW ...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2015

Quarry's Choice

Max Allan Collins

Quarry is a pro in the murder business. When the man he works for becomes a target himself, Quarry is sent South to remove a traitor in the ranks. But in this wide-open city – with sin everywhere, and betrayal around every corner ...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2015

Quarry's Climax

Max Allan Collins

From the award-winning author of ROAD TO PERDITION, the new QUARRY novel continues the deadly story of the assassin who stars in the acclaimed Cinemax original series Memphis, 1975. "Raunchy" doesn't begin to describe Max Cl...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2017

Quarry's Deal

Max Allan Collins

BEHIND THE DOORS OF AN ILLEGAL CASINO,WILL QUARRY FIND LADY LUCK...OR A LADY KILLER?Putting his plan in motion to target other hitmen, Quarry follows one from steamy Florida to the sober Midwest. But this killer isn't a man at all - s...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2015

Quarry's Vote

Max Allan Collins

ASK NOT WHO YOU CAN KILL FOR YOUR COUNTRYNow retired and happily married, Quarry turns down a million-dollar contract to assassinate a presidential candidate. It's not the sort of assignment you can just walk away from without conseq...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2015

Blood Truth (The Rick Cahill Series)

Matt Coyle

A hard-boiled PI novel for fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald and Dashiell Hammett.Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood―the blood of his father coursing through his veins. When a long-hidden safe unlocks c...

Paperback
Published: Dec 2017

Binary

Michael Crichton

Political radical John Wright is plotting an act of mass destruction - and federal agent John Graves has him under surveillance, trying to figure out what the plot is. When a government computer is hacked and a high-security shipment...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2013

The Venom Business

Michael Crichton

As an expert handler of venomous snakes - and a smuggler of rare artifacts - Charles Raynaud is accustomed to danger. So the job bodyguarding an old acquaintance about to come into a fortune shouldn't make him break a sweat.But when t...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2013

Zero Cool

Michael Crichton

American radiologist Peter Ross just wanted a vacation.  But when he meets the beautiful Angela Locke on a Spanish beach, he soon finds himself caught in a murderous crossfire between rival gangs seeking a precious artifact. From Ba...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2013

The Fear Artist (Poke Rafferty)

Timothy Hallinan

"Edgar-finalist Hallinan's heartrending, unforgettable fifth Poke Rafferty thriller" (Publishers Weekly starred review) set in Thailand comes to Soho Crime An accidental collision on a Bangkok sidewalk goes very wrong when ...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2013
  • 1-30 of 316

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up