African American - Historical

1-20 of 20

The Wedding Gift

Marlen Suyapa Bodden

In 1852, when prestigious Alabama plantation owner Cornelius Allen gives his daughter Clarissa's hand in marriage, she takes with her a gift: Sarah-her slave and her half-sister. Raised by an educated mother, Clarissa is not the prope...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2015

Say Goodbye for Now

Catherine Ryan Hyde

On an isolated Texas ranch, Dr. Lucy cares for abandoned animals. The solitude allows her to avoid the people and places that remind her of the past. Not that any of the townsfolk care. In 1959, no one is interested in a woman doctor....

Paperback
Published: Dec 2016

Gathering of Waters

Bernice L. McFadden

Gathering of Waters is a deeply engrossing tale narrated by the town of Money, Mississippi--a site both significant and infamous in our collective story as a nation. Money is personified in this haunting story, which chronicles its tr...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2012

Freeman

Leonard Pitts

Freeman, the new novel by Leonard Pitts, Jr., takes place in the first few months following the Confederate surrender and the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Upon learning of Lee's surrender, Sam--a runaway slave who once worked for...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2012

Mustard Seed

Laila Ibrahim

The bestselling author of Yellow Crocus returns with a haunting and tender story of three women returning to the plantation they once called home.Oberlin, Ohio, 1868. Lisbeth Johnson was born into privilege in the antebellum South. Jo...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2017

Glorious

Bernice L. McFadden

"The seeming inevitability of cruel fate juxtaposes the triumph of the spirit in this remarkably rich and powerful novel, Glorious. Bernice McFadden's fully realized characters are complicated, imperfect beings, but if ever a cha...

Paperback
Published: May 2010

The Good Lord Bird

James McBride

Winner of the 2013 National Book Award for FictionSoon to be a major motion picture starring Liev Shreiber and Jaden Smith A Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, Oprah Magazine Top 10 Book of the Year"A magnificent new novel by ...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2014

The Heroic Slave: A Cultural and Crit...

Frederick Douglass

First published nearly a decade prior to the Civil War, The Heroic Slave is the only fictional work by abolitionist, orator, author, and social reformer Frederick Douglass, himself a former slave. It is inspired by the true story of M...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2015

A Slave of the Shadows (Volume 1)

Naomi Finley

In 1850 Charleston, South Carolina, brutality and cruelty simmer just under the genteel surface of Southern society. In an era where ladies are considered mere property, beautiful and headstrong Willow Hendricks' father has filled her...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

The Book of Negroes

Lawrence Hill

Lawrence Hill's award-winning novel is a major television miniseries airing on BET Networks.The Book of Negroes (based on the novel Someone Knows My Name) will be BET's first miniseries. The star-studded production includes lead actre...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2015

The Daughter of Union County

Francine Thomas Howard

Fourteen years after the end of slavery, Lord Henry Hardin and his wife, Lady Bertha, enjoy an entitled life in Union County, Arkansas. Until he faces a devastating reality: Bertha is unable to bear children. If Henry doesn't produce ...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2016

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Sherry Jones

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular l...

Paperback
Published: Dec 2018

Amiable with Big Teeth

Claude McKay

A monumental literary event: the newly discovered final novel by seminal Harlem Renaissance writer Claude McKay, a rich and multilayered portrayal of life in 1930s Harlem and a historical protest for black freedom  The unexpected dis...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

One House Over (The Neighbors Series)...

Mary Monroe

New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe returns to the 1930s era of her acclaimed novel The Upper Room with a dazzling portrait of two very different couples whose fast friendship is no match for shattering betrayal . . .   A s...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2019

Death at Tammany Hall

Charles O'Brien

New York City, 1894. The Democratic Party headquarters at Tammany Hall is a hotbed of cronyism, corruption, and intimidation. Private investigator Pamela Thompson's close colleague at Jeremiah Prescott's law firm, former NYPD dete...

Paperback
Published: Jun 2015

The Truth About Awiti

Cp Patrick

There is a commonly held belief the tropical storms and hurricanes that form off the coast of West Africa are not natural disasters, but rather they are retaliation by restless spirits impacted by one of the darkest chapters of world ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2015

But Have Not Love

Michael Edwin Q

By a twist of fate, a runaway slave girl and a wounded Confederate officer are thrown together and must rely on each other to survive. Can the seed of love grow in the garden of hate?This is the latest in Michael Edwin Q's African Ame...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2018

The Nigger Factory

Gil Scott-Heron

Originally published in 1972, Gil Scott-Heron's striking second novel, The Nigger Factory, is a powerful parable of the way in which human beings are conditioned to think, drawing inspiration from Scott-Heron's own experiences as a st...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2010

A Kind of Freedom: A Novel

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Long-listed for the National Book Award Winner of the First Novelist Award from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association A New York Times Notable Book"Brilliantly juxtaposing World War II, the '80s and post-Katrina p...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2018

The Darkest Child

Delores Phillips

No Description

Paperback
Published: Jan 2005
  • 1-20 of 20

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up