African American - Historical

1-21 of 21

The Wedding Gift

Marlen Suyapa Bodden

In 1852, when prestigious Alabama plantation owner Cornelius Allen gives his daughter Clarissa's hand in marriage, she takes with her a gift: Sarah-her slave and her half-sister. Raised by an educated mother, Clarissa is not the prope...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2015

Gathering of Waters

Bernice L. McFadden

Gathering of Waters is a deeply engrossing tale narrated by the town of Money, Mississippi--a site both significant and infamous in our collective story as a nation. Money is personified in this haunting story, which chronicles its tr...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2012

Say Goodbye for Now

Catherine Ryan Hyde

On an isolated Texas ranch, Dr. Lucy cares for abandoned animals. The solitude allows her to avoid the people and places that remind her of the past. Not that any of the townsfolk care. In 1959, no one is interested in a woman doctor....

Paperback
Published: Dec 2016

Freeman

Leonard Pitts

Freeman, the new novel by Leonard Pitts, Jr., takes place in the first few months following the Confederate surrender and the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Upon learning of Lee's surrender, Sam--a runaway slave who once worked for...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2012

Mustard Seed

Laila Ibrahim

The bestselling author of Yellow Crocus returns with a haunting and tender story of three women returning to the plantation they once called home.Oberlin, Ohio, 1868. Lisbeth Johnson was born into privilege in the antebellum South. Jo...

Paperback
Published: Nov 2017

The Good Lord Bird

James McBride

Winner of the 2013 National Book Award for FictionSoon to be a major motion picture starring Liev Shreiber and Jaden Smith A Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, Oprah Magazine Top 10 Book of the Year"A magnificent new novel by ...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2014

The Heroic Slave

Frederick Douglass

Famed abolitionist Frederick Douglass based his only fictional work on the gripping true story of the biggest slave rebellion in U.S. history. The Heroic Slave was inspired by a courageous uprising led by Madison Washington in 1841. W...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2015

The Heroic Slave: A Cultural and Crit...

Frederick Douglass

First published nearly a decade prior to the Civil War, The Heroic Slave is the only fictional work by abolitionist, orator, author, and social reformer Frederick Douglass, himself a former slave. It is inspired by the true story of M...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2015

Washington Black

Esi Edugyan

One of the TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR New York Times Book ReviewOne of the Best Books of the YearThe Boston Globe ● The Washington Post ● Time ● Entertainment Weekly ● San Francisco Chronicle ● Financial Times ● Minneap...

Paperback
Published: Apr 2019

A Slave of the Shadows (Volume 1)

Naomi Finley

In 1850 Charleston, South Carolina, brutality and cruelty simmer just under the genteel surface of Southern society. In an era where ladies are considered mere property, beautiful and headstrong Willow Hendricks' father has filled her...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

Everlastin' Love II: Culhane Family S...

Gay G. Gunn

Everlastin' Love II is an intensely moving novel spanning two turbulent decades as the Culhanes explore life's fragility, youthful chances taken, unwanted repercussions and mature resolutions. A heart rendering/poignant story of love...

Paperback
Published: May 2019

The Book of Negroes

Lawrence Hill

Lawrence Hill's award-winning novel is a major television miniseries airing on BET Networks.The Book of Negroes (based on the novel Someone Knows My Name) will be BET's first miniseries. The star-studded production includes lead actre...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2015

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Sherry Jones

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular l...

Paperback
Published: Dec 2018

Mountain: A Novel

Robert Kuncio-Raleigh

A vivid picture of life in the era when America was born, Mountain is based on the true story of Joseph Mountain — a free black raised by notable white Philadelphians before the revolutionary war. His adopted father — a signer of ...

Paperback
Published: Jul 2019

Amiable with Big Teeth

Claude McKay

A monumental literary event: the newly discovered final novel by seminal Harlem Renaissance writer Claude McKay, a rich and multilayered portrayal of life in 1930s Harlem and a historical protest for black freedom  The unexpected dis...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2018

One House Over (The Neighbors Series)...

Mary Monroe

New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe returns to the 1930s era of her acclaimed novel The Upper Room with a dazzling portrait of two very different couples whose fast friendship is no match for shattering betrayal . . .   A s...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2019

The Truth About Awiti

Cp Patrick

There is a commonly held belief the tropical storms and hurricanes that form off the coast of West Africa are not natural disasters, but rather they are retaliation by restless spirits impacted by one of the darkest chapters of world ...

Paperback
Published: Mar 2015

The Darkest Child

Delores Phillips

A new edition of this award-winning modern classic, with an introduction by Tayari Jones (An American Marriage), an excerpt from the never before seen follow-up, and discussion guide.  Pakersfield, Georgia, 1958: Thirteen-year-old Ta...

Paperback
Published: Jan 2005

The Last Thing You Surrender

Leonard Pitts Jr

Could you find the courage to do what's right in a world on fire? Pulitzer-winning journalist and bestselling novelist (Freeman) Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s new historical page-turner is a great American tale of race and war, following three...

Paperback
Published: Feb 2019

But Have Not Love

Michael Edwin Q

By a twist of fate, a runaway slave girl and a wounded Confederate officer are thrown together and must rely on each other to survive. Can the seed of love grow in the garden of hate?This is the latest in Michael Edwin Q's African Ame...

Paperback
Published: Oct 2018

A Kind of Freedom: A Novel

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Long-listed for the National Book Award Winner of the First Novelist Award from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association A New York Times Notable Book"Brilliantly juxtaposing World War II, the '80s and post-Katrina p...

Paperback
Published: Aug 2018
  • 1-21 of 21

Browse

  • 50% Off - Join Now!
  • Save time, money, shelf space and the environment
  • Large selection of current and past titles
  • Convenience of home delivery (Free Shipping)
  • No due dates or late fees, ever!
  • Sign Up